Community Council

South Hills Jewish Pittsburgh’s Community Council is a governing board comprised of community leaders representing all five South Hills synagogues: Ahavath Achim (The Carnegie Shul), Beth El, Beth Israel Center, Chabad of the South Hills, and Temple Emanuel, as well as the South Hills JCC and current unaffiliated members of the South Hills Jewish Community.


The Council meets four times a year with committee meetings held on a regular basis. We are always on the look out for volunteers, program ideas, and other suggestions. Contact our South Hills office at (412) 697-6697 or


Executive Council 

William Spatz (Chair)

Matt Schwartz (Vice Chair)

Jonathan Fischer (Strategic Planning Committee Chair)

Andrew Neft (Programming Committee Chair)

Larry Schwartz (Grant/Funding Committee Chair)


Community Council Members At-Large

Mark Ackerman

Larry Block

Robert Burack

Jen Cohen

Mary Cothran

Miles Kirshner

Rebecca Lasus

Robyn Markowitz Lawler

Julia Leyzarovich

Karen Morris

Greg Pocrass

Al Rosenthal

Michael Roteman

Shelly Schapiro

Bob Silverman

Bill Sota